Duke Final Four Appearances: History of Blue Devils NCAA Tournament Semifinals, National Basketball Championships

Duke is gearing up for the final Final Four appearance of Mike Krzyzewski’s illustrious career on Saturday — and they’re doing it against their biggest rival, the North Carolina Tar Heels.

That phrase alone should wake up the ears of any college basketball fan. Love or hate Duke, the Blue Devils have been a staple of the NCAA tournament for nearly 40 years. While they may not make the Final Four with the consistency of late ’80s and ’90s teams, it’s still one of college basketball’s most storied programs, by and large. part thanks to Krzyzewski and his 12 Final Four games.

MORE: Blueblood? New blood? How Villanova compares to other Final Four programs

Saturday will mark No. 13 for Krzyzewski and No. 17 for Duke as a program. Saturday’s game will put Krzyzewski ahead of John Wooden for most Final Four games ever.

Duke has been outstanding in its Final Four games, going 11-5 as a team and 5-6 nationally. College basketball in March is one of the toughest months in all of sports, but Krzyzewski managed to extend a stellar moment in 36 years.

How many Final Fours has Duke played in?

Duke has made 17 appearances in the men’s Final Four, tied for third all-time. This Krzyzewski appearance gives him the best of any coach in men’s history with 13. Duke is 11-5 in Final Four appearances so far, with Krzyzewski personally going 9-3.

Year Opponent Coach
1963 Loyola Chicago Vic Bubas
1964 Michigan Vic Bubas
1966 Kentucky Vic Bubas
1978 our Lady Bill Foster
1986 Kansas Mike Krzyzewski
1988 Kansas Mike Krzyzewski
1989 Seton room Mike Krzyzewski
1990 Arkansas Mike Krzyzewski
1991 UNLV Mike Krzyzewski
1992 Indiana Mike Krzyzewski
1994 Florida Mike Krzyzewski
1999 state of michigan Mike Krzyzewski
2001 Maryland Mike Krzyzewski
2004 Connecticut Mike Krzyzewski
2010 West Virginia Mike Krzyzewski
2015 state of michigan Mike Krzyzewski
2022 North Carolina Mike Krzyzewski

NCAA Live Support | TV program | Prediction tool

How many times has Duke won a national championship?

Duke has won five national championshipsall under Coach K’s tenure. After winning back-to-back championships in 1991 and 1992, establishing a ton of dominance for the decade, Krzyzewski would win against in 2001, 2010, and 2015.

The Blue Devils have made 11 national championships, putting their record at 5-6. Krzyzewski’s record is 5-4, with Vic Bubas and Bill Foster each losing a national championship.

Duke record in Final Four games

Duke is 11-5 in Final Four games to date, with his last victory in 2015 and his last national championship the same year.

Year Results
1963 Loyola Chicago 94, Duke 75
1964 Duke 91, michigan 80
1966 Kentucky 83, Duke 79
1978 Duke 90, Notre Dame 86
1986 Duke 71, kansas 67
1988 kansas 66, Duke 59
1989 Room Seton 95, Duke 78
1990 Duke 97, Arkansas 83
1991 Duke 79, UNLV 77
1992 Duke 81, Indiana 78
1994 Duke 70, Florida 65
1999 Duke 68, Michigan State 62
2001 Duke 95, Maryland 84
2004 Connecticut 79, Duke 78
2010 Duke 78, West Virginia 57
2015 Duke 81, Michigan State 61
2022 North Carolina (to be determined)

In its last two Final Four appearances, Duke has won the national championship. If that trend continues, Krzyzewski will retire a six-time national champion, with championships in his last three Final Four appearances.

Duke’s National Championship record

Duke is 5-6 in the national championship game, with a 5-4 record under Krzyzewski. Duke has beaten Butler and Wisconsin in its last two league games.

Year Results
1964 Loss at UCLA (98-83)
1978 Loss in Kentucky (94-88)
1986 Loss in Louisville (72-69)
1990 Loss at UNLV (103-73)
1991 To earn vs. Kansas (72-65)
1992 To earn vs. Michigan (71-51)
1994 Loss in Arkansas (76-72)
1999 Loss in Connecticut (77-74)
2001 To earn against Arizona (82-72)
2010 To earn against Butler (61-59)
2015 To earn vs. Wisconsin (68-63)

Key players in Krzyzewski’s final Final Four teams

2001: The 2001 Blue Devils were led by five future NBA players: Shane Battier, Jay Williams, Mike Dunleavy, Chris Duhon and Carlos Boozer. Battier and Williams both earned over 20 points against Maryland in their Final Four game, scoring 25 and 23 points respectively. Williams averaged more than 20 points per game during the season, but a motorcycle accident cut short his NBA career after he was drafted by the Chicago Bulls.

2004 : Duke in 2004 introduced sharpshooter JJ Redick, who of course had a long and successful career in the NBA. Redick averaged 15 points per game in 2004 and scored 15 in Duke’s Final Four loss to Connecticut. Other NBA players on the 2004 list include Luol Deng, Daniel Ewing, Shelden Williams, Duhon and Shavlik Randolph. While Redick had the most successful career, Williams, Duhon and Deng all stayed in the league for a long time.

2010: The 2010 Blue Devils presented a huge Seven future NBA players, including a pair of Plumlees. Kyle Singler, Nolan Smith, Miles Plumlee, Lance Thomas, Andre Dawkins, Mason Plumlee and Ryan Kelly were all part of this dominant team. Duke crushed West Virginia in 2010 behind the efforts of Jon Scheyer, Singler and Smith. Scheyer and Singler had over 20 against WVU, while Smith had 19 more. Duke’s bench only scored seven points. If Scheyer’s name sounds familiar, it’s because he’s the heir apparent to the Duke coach once the season is over and Krzyzewski retires.

2015 : The 2015 Blue Devils managed to surpass 2010, with eight NBA players. Jahlil Okafor, Quinn Cook, Justice Winslow, Tyus Jones, Amile Jefferson, Marshall Plumlee, Semi Ojeleye and the polarizing Grayson Allen were part of this Duke team. Okafor, Winslow and Cook led the way for the 2015 Blue Devils against Michigan State, while the bench had 11 more points for Duke.

Comments are closed.