Six Big Ten male basketball players make Wooden Award Top 20 list

The watch list for the John R. Wooden Award was reduced from 25 to 20 names on Monday, with six of the remaining 20 players coming from the Big Ten.

Purdue guard Jaden Ivey and center Zach Edey, Illinois center Kofi Cockburn, Iowa forward Keegan Murray, Ohio State forward EJ Liddell and Wisconsin guard Johnny Davis are all on the revised roster for the top player in men’s college basketball.

Purdue (No. 4), Wisconsin (No. 11), Ohio State (No. 16) and Illinois (No. 18) are all ranked in the latest AP Top 25, announced Monday.

Ivey and Edey are one of two pairs of teammates on the revised roster, joining Gonzaga standouts Chet Holmgren and Drew Timme.

Of the 20 players on the revised list, nine appear in the first round of ESPN’s latest 2022 NBA Mock Draft, including Holmgren (No. 1), Duke’s Paolo Banchero (No. 2) and Auburn’s Jabari Smith (No. 3). ).

The five players removed from the previous version of the watch list announced in early January are Iowa State’s Izaiah Brockington, Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson, UCLA’s Jaime Jaquez Jr., Duke’s Wendell Moore Jr. and Purdue’s Trevion Williams. .

A full look at the Wooden Award Mid-Season Top 25:

Max Abmas, Oral Roberts (6-0, Jr., G)
Ochai Agbaji, Kansas (6-5, Senior, G)
James Akinjo, Baylor (6-1, Sr., G)
Paolo Banchero, Duke (6-10, Fr., F)
Kofi Cockburn, Ill. (7-0, Jr., C)
Johnny Davis, Wis. (6-5, Soph., G)
Zach Edey, Purdue (7-4, Sophia, C)
Collin Gillespie, Villanova (6-3, Sr., G)
Chet Holmgren, Gonzaga (7-0, Fr., C)
Jaden Ivey, Purdue (6-4 Soph., G)
Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana (6-9, Jr., F)
Johnny Juzang, UCLA (6-7, Junior, G)
EJ Liddell, Ohio State (6-7, Jr., F)
Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona (6-6, Soph., G)
Isaiah Mobley, USC (6-10, Jr., F)
Keegan Murray, Iowa (6-8, Soph., F)
David Roddy, Colorado State (6-6, Jr., F)
Jabari Smith, Auburn (6-10, Fr., F)
Drew Timme, Gonzaga (6-10, Jr., F)
Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky (6-9, Jr., F)

Comments are closed.